NHA 2015 : FELICIA LEATHERWOOD’S WORKSHOP

NHA 2015 : FELICIA LEATHERWOOD’S WORKSHOP

As promissed, I am detailing Felicia Leatherwood’s workshop that I particularly loved at Natural Hair Academy 2015.

Felcia Leatherwood is THE hair stylist of natural hair in the U.S. ( for U.S readers, you may already know who she is). She travels around the world from conferences to conferences to put to light the beauty of afro natural hair, thanks to her expertise and creativity. I would see her like somekind of hair guru, as more than her expertise, she brings to the table her whole universe and her philosophy.

She is a partner of Natural Hair Academy since day 1 and I had that grat feeling that she felt at home.

NHA 2015 FL

For her conference for which the audience was packed, she did a recap of afro hair types. As I am the kind of girl that does not take notes to cease the moment, I am offering you to check out the description of hair types here. The classification is well documented ( in french though). But you can easily find it on the internet with a search.

She showed us exemples thanks to ladies in the audience. She also underlined the fact that most women have multiples hair types.

NHA 2015 FL 3

The real additional value of the workshop is that she answered to the problems exposed by the ladies in the room such as hair growth, hair products to use to care for our hair or the way to care for our hair when exercising.  I found that last question very interesting. My hair being a mess these days, all her advice was so useful. To be honest, I forgot most of it. But I will not forget how I felt. I felt empowered. Because for once I was not an OVNI. I was among girls who made the same choice I made.

 Although all questions seemed the same, the ladies looking for individual advice, Felicia always found a way to add a new dimension to her answers, that made the discussion even more interesting.

NHA 2015 FL 2

She explained for example that the wash & go technique is not adapted to all hair types, especially type 4 that is so frizzy. She also explained that ladies who had thin hair had to be extra cautious with their edgdes as it was the most frequent breakage point.

 She gave product references and demontrated the new brush she developed, allowing to brush hair with minimum breakage as very malleable. You can even purchase it via her website here.  You can also get all kind of advice on hair, health or just being positive.

We were also given styling ideas according to different  hair types and also for braided hair. She showed us how to perform the hair-do she did multiple times on Ava Duvernay, the director of Selma. It was really nice and suited the model really well. She was assisted by Dydy, lthe known french naturalista.

NHA 2015 FL 14Dydy, Felicia Leatherwood & Jennifer Lord

To finish, a fashion show took place all prepared by Felicia, Dydy and Jennifer Lord of  Natural Hollywood . It was great and I left the workshop excited by the rest of the day to come and wanting absolutely to meet Felicia and ask her for all the advice I can get.

NHA 2015 FL 4

NHA 2015 FL 5

NHA 2015 FL 6

NHA 2015 FL 7

NHA 2015 FL 8

NHA 2015 FL 9

NHA 2015 FL 12

NHA 2015 FL 10

NHA 2015 FL 13

NHA 2015 FL 15

We exchanged briefly at the end of the day with her and she seemed to be the sweetheart I knew she was, in love with hair and ready to help on any problem we would have. It was just like I imagined

  I wish you a beautiful end of day and see you tommorow for a post that will allow us to travel together.

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

NHA 2015: Le workshop de Felicia Leatherwood

NHA 2015: Le workshop de Felicia Leatherwood

Comme promis, je vous parle plus en détail de la conférence de Felicia Leatherwood que j’ai particulièrement aimé au Natural Hair Academy 2015.

Felicia Leatherwood est la hair stylist du cheveu naturel aux Etats-Unis. Elle sillonne le monde de conférences en conférences pour montrer la beauté du cheveu afro grâce à son expertise et sa créative. Je dirai que c’est une guru car en plus de son expertise, elle apporte tout son univers et sa philosophie.

C’est une partenaire du NHA depuis le début et j’ai eu la sensation qu’elle s’y sentait comme chez elle.

Dans le cadre de sa conférence dont l’audience battait son plein, elle nous a fait un récapitulatif des types de cheveux. Mais parce que je suis du genre à profiter de l’instant et ne pas prendre de note, je vous propose de consulter les types de cheveux décrit ici. La classification y est claire et surtout on vous explique pourquoi c’est primordial de savoir à quel(s)  type(s) correspond votre cheveu.

NHA 2015 FL

Elle nous a montré des exemples avec des femmes de l’audience . Elle a aussi souligné que les femmes ont la plupart du temps différentes textures. Donc plusieurs types coexistent sur la même tête.

NHA 2015 FL 3

Le plus du workshop, c’est qu’elle a répondu aux problématiques exposées par les femmes sur la pousse du cheveu, les produits à employer pour soigner ou encore la manière de préserver sa chevelure dans le cadre d’une activité sportive entre autres. J’ai d’ailleurs trouvé cette question très pertinente. Bien que les questions semblaient être un peu toutes les mêmes, les femmes recherchant un conseil personnalisé, Felicia parvenait  à  ajouter une nouvelle dimension à chacune de ses réponses, ce qui rendait l’échange intéressant.

NHA 2015 FL 2

Elle expliquait que par exemple, le wash & go n’est pas adapté à tous les types de cheveux surtout le type 4. Elle expliquait aussi que les femmes qui ont les cheveux fins devaient faire attention à leur contour sachant que c’est l’endroit où la casse est la plus fréquente.

Elle a également donné des références de produits et nous a fait une démonstration de la dernière brosse qu’elle a créé,  permettant le brossage sans arracher, puisque très malléable. Vous pouvez la retrouver à l’achat sur son site ici. Vous y trouverez d’autres conseils cheveux mais aussi des conseils très positifs de lifestyle.

On a eu droit à des idées de coiffures sur des cheveux de différents types et également tressés. Elle a d’ailleurs montré la coiffure qu’elle a faite à plusieurs reprises à la réalisatrice du film Selma, Ava Duverney. C’était très réussi et allait très bien au modèle. Elle était assistée dans son entreprise par Dydy, la naturalista reconnue en France, derrière.

NHA 2015 FL 14

Pour finir, on nous a proposé un défilé de coiffures réalisé par Felicia, Dydy et Jennifer Lord de  Natural Hollywood . C’était très réussi et je suis repartie heureuse de ma journée et la folle envie de rencontrer Felicia et lui demander des conseils.

NHA 2015 FL 4

NHA 2015 FL 5

NHA 2015 FL 6

NHA 2015 FL 7

NHA 2015 FL 8

NHA 2015 FL 9

NHA 2015 FL 12

NHA 2015 FL 10

NHA 2015 FL 13

NHA 2015 FL 15

Il s’avère que nous avons échangé un peu avec elle et qu’elle a l’air d’être une sweetheart, amoureuse de cheveux et prête à apporter son aide sur toutes nos problématiques. Juste comme je l’imaginais.

Voici mes propos en photos mes beautés.

Je vous souhaite une très belle fin de journée les chéries et vous dis à demain pour que nous voyagions ensemble.

 Photos : Laura O. & Randomly Kay

Suivre:
Partager:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.